Archive for June 8th, 2010

Re: Music ⎜The Gino Iannucci showdown

June 8, 2010

Gino polaroidly shot by Tura in London a few years back. This being once again a pretext to link Mr Turakiewicz’ and Fred D’s ever-excellent Soma mag’s site

Gino Iannucci’s elusiveness, I figured out, was the perfect pretext for this blog to play a Houdini on everybody for a minute but, yes: A Visual Sound is back. With actually one of the posts I had wanted to make happen since day one, Gino being one of the very few skaters whose video parts had absolute flawless soundtracks tunes-wise –an obvious other one being Mike Carroll.
So after a little game of (not that bad at all) cat-and-mouse, the Poets‘ co-owner got to comment on five of his most illustrous tunes in skate flicks. As expected, the dude has always been hands-on in the process, and would have some more to spare, if ever…  If ever what?
“There’s that one track I’ve wanted to use for a long time,” Gino sates, “and I figured out if I come up with a part long enough to use it it’d be cool. It’s the first song on the American Cream Team’s soundtrack for the movie Black And White, a lot of the Wu Tang guys were in it. I think that song comes at the end of the movie, in the credits. But I haven’t been filming at all, to be honest with you. Sometimes I think I’m done, it’s just everything, it’s the motivation, it’s having the shop… But mainly it’s the motivation to be on your skateboard every day and film. I’ve battled myself so many times for a couple weeks and call a filmer to go skate that spot and once I get there, I don’t feel like getting that clip.”
“I’m getting to the point where I’m like, ‘Allright Gino, do you really want to do this? If that’s the case stop fooling yourself.’ Video parts and skating for yourself is a whole different mindstate. I don’t know. I’d love to come up with another part and pick a song, that’s fun. But getting older is tough.”
Semi-retirement plans announcements aside, here’s a mini-retrospective of the (heavily Wu Tang influenced, as boroached in that Dirk Vogel article) musical choices that contributed to lead Gino Iannucci’s career into legend material.

*****

Wu Tang Clan : Method Man
Used in Snuff (101 , 1993)

“I definitely picked that one. What happened was that one of my good friends was going to university in St John’s in NY, and U God from the Wu Tang was at St John’s school at the same time, he was passing around the Protect Ya Neck single, the first single that Wu Tang ever came up with.

So my friend got a copy, he brought it back to Long Island that night and he showed it to me and I was like, ‘Wow that’s crazy, I never heard that shit before.’ Sort of like millions of other people were like the first time they heard that. And ‘Method Man’ was on the B-Side of it, it became instantly my favorite track and there was no question that I wanted to use it on the video.

I don’t really remember how long it took from me choosing the song to the video coming out, and then the whole Wu Tang album coming out, but I wanna believe it was around the same time. After that I tried to use Wu Tang every video part, that was my favorite band.”

Ghostface Killah: Motherless Child, DJ Punish remix
Used in Trilogy (World Industries, 1996)

“You know what? I don’t even know the beginning part, I don’t even know who did that beat, but I know that the second part was Motherless Child. Another good friend of mine that I went to school with, Denis Iderman, he’s the co-owner of Mighty Healthy now, but he has been a DJ all his life. I went to his apartment for that video and I said, ‘Look, if you put something together for this video I’m doing, I wanna use the Motherless Child instrumental but if you wanna use something to it, go ahead.’ 

In a matter of half an hour he had put together that beat that starts off the part, like that high-pitched sound, and then I told him I wanted to put some kind of message before the song starts, the way Wu Tang does, from a karate flick. So the one I found was more saying how everybody’s unique, and got their own style.”

Royal Flush : Worlwide instrumental
Used in Mouse (Girl, shared part with Keenan Milton, 1996)

“I don’t know why I would always pick the instrumental of a tune and when I think about it now, sometimes I think I should have used the lyrics side as well. I mean, the GZA beat (Publicity, in The Chocolate Tour), it just sounded ridiculous by itself, but in retrospect I should maybe have used the vocal.

But the Royal Flush instrumental was Keenan’s choice, he picked that. I remember when when that song came out, Keenan was listening to that all day, every day. And then when the video came out… Thanks God, it had an amazing instrumental as well.

I wasn’t that involved in that video that much so I don’t remeber if the part was already edited or not. It’s kinda foggy, I think that was during my transition from 101 to Chocolate. But I’m sure Keenan mentioned using that song and I agreed, something like that.”

Guns ‘n’ Roses: It’s So Easy
Used in Yeah, Right ! (Girl, 2003)

“Actually Mike Carroll picked that tune. I remember being at Ty’s apartment when he was editing the video and I had a lot of songs that I was thinking of using, rap songs or whatever. But Mike was like, ‘Yo, check this song out’, and Ty had put it to my part. I looked at it and I was like, ‘You know what? I like it.’

At the time, even to this day, I’m a big Guns’N’Roses fan. I was never a big Guns ‘n’ Roses fan like back in the day cause I was strictly hip hop, you know. I started getting into rock a bit later in life, I had a girlfriend who got me into a lot of the classic rock. Like, maybe late ’90s. I wasn’t so narrow-minded, hip hop only, that’s how I was when I was younger. My taste started spreading to a lot of music.

But yeah, it was Mike Carroll’s idea. The other tunes I had thought about were stuff like one Prodigy from  Mobb Deep’s song, can’t remember the name, I had also thought of using a Pantera song.

The only song, ever, I was never asked about, was the one they used in my part in the alternate Yeah Right video, that David Bowie Son. I had no say in that and I was kinda bummed about that cause the song is lame. That’s what the ony one I can say that I had no part of.”

The Streets: Turn The Page instrumental
Used in Hot Chocolate (Chocolate, 2004)

“This one came about cause we were on a tour on a film trip and I was running that Streets album all the time. Ty recognized that I liked it so then when he had the finished video, he had edited my part to The Streets’ instrumental and I was like, ‘Wow’. It was cool.

I think I might have have heard one of his songs on the radio over here, and maybe I saw his new album at the record store. I don’t know how good he did in the US, and you don’ hear about The Streets anymore out here, but this album was his banger.”

*****

Extra ball : due to popular demand and the possibilty for me to get lynched if I was not to do anything about it, I had Gino send a little comment about his Chocolate Tour track (GZA : Publicity) as well. You’ll find it in this post’s comments. You’re welcome.

(On a non-Gino related tip whatsoever, let me also redirect a portion of the giant waves of clicks this post has generated to my other blog, where you’ll find out what Brian Lotti’s been cooking lately).


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.